St. Joseph’s National School was built in April 1953. It is built of locally manufactured bricks. It replaced an old school building situated in the centre of the town .This old school was built in 1899 and celebrated its centenary in 1999. It is now known as the Matt Talbot Parochial Centre and is used by the community.
On the 25th of June 1984 the new extension to St Joseph’s School was officially opened by Mr. Tom Fitzpatrick Ceann Comhairle. The school was blessed by Dr. Michael Smith , Bishop of Meath.
Since the foundation of the School in 1899 education in Kingscourt school was divided between St. Joseph’s Boys’ N. S. and St. Joseph’s Girls’ N.S.- two separate schools with their own principal and staff working side by side in the same building. On the 1st September 2003 the two schools amalgamated. This marked a historic occasion in the history of primary education in Kingscourt. St. Joseph’s Boys’ and St. Joseph’s Girls’ combined their talents and experience and formed our amalgamated school, now renamed as St. Joseph’s National School. Our amalgamation has been a wonderful success for our pupils, parents, teachers and management.
Our school population has increased over the last ten years and a new three classroom extension, library and store was built in 2012. The extension was blessed by Bishop Michael Smith, our school patron on the 9th November 2012.